I Passed My First DevOps Certification

carlarjenkins
2 min readJun 12, 2023

--

I passed with the help of workforce development

Hey there! This past Friday I passed my DevOps Foundation certification exam. I received my training and free exam voucher from Global Lynx, an Ohio Individual Microcredential Assistance Program (IMAP).

Backstory

I was scrolling on Facebook mid-May at 2am and saw this Ohio IMAP ad talking about free certification and workforce development. Having been in Ohio Means Jobs Cuyahoga County were I got my AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner and AWS Solutions Architect, I entered my contact information in the form and received confirmation.

The next morning I received a follow-up email from intake with a Calendly link. Enthusiastic I clicked on it only to be let down: June 5th was the earliest appointment. I was bummed but scheduled for the appointment anyway resigning myself to the fact that I would not be able to enroll in the My 26th Introduction to DevOps Foundation course. I would had to wait for July, 2 months away to get into the course because, hey, it was the government don’t you know.

June 5th : Intake Day

I spoke with the lady at intake. She said that she would put me into the Introduction to DevOps course because I had the ITIL and Scrum (agile project management) background. Even though the course was 2 weeks ago, she was certain that I could catch.

Her remarks inspired this very 5 reasons to keep your resume up to date video. I uploaded my resume and provided Global Lynx with current background information. Had I not done that I would had to wait until July.

Ramp-Up Period

Immediately I took advantage of this opportunity by logging onto Cloud Academy. I found the exact DevOps Foundation certification learning path. I completed it by Wednesday receiving my certificate. Thursday I finished the Global Lynx self-paced online learning path. The intake lady gave me the May review session so that I could take and upload a snapshot before releasing the certification exam. Once I did it, she released the exam. I passed my certification exam that Friday.

Finally, here are the exam prep resources that I have used to pass my DevOps Foundation exam

· Ohio IMAP with Global Lynx as the training provider

· Cloud Academy DevOps Foundation learning path

· Quizlet DevOps Institute flashcards

What’s Next?

Though this is my first DevOps certification, it will not be my last. If you know me, you know I hate being at the bottom. Global Lynx has two more DevOps certifications which I will ask about because this is a workforce development program, and I feel acquiring these higher-level DevOps certs separate me from my competition.

--

--