This Week In AWS Community: Learning New Things

carlarjenkins
2 min readMay 24, 2024

In the last post, I talked about getting new AWS exam vouchers. In this post I am talking about why relearning the basic concepts has taught me some new things.

I am back to studying to pass my AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner (I let it lapse in 2023 because I wasn’t using it). Since 2020 when I passed my CCP, a lot of things changed at AWS. For instance, Glacier now has a flexible retrieval option. Before, it was just AWS Glacier and that was it.

Since I am in the workforce development program with a Coursera subscription, I’ve decided to complete the AWS Cloud Essentials learning path. It helps me learn all about the new things since 2020 (which are a lot). I’ve scored 27/30 to receive the certificate of completion.

Next I’ve decided to take the Tutorials Dojo CCP practice exam. I’ve used the Udemy version in 2020; but, since then Jon Bonso has created his own website so I go there. I like his review mode and section based quizzes. Right now I am working on stamina because AWS has 65 questions versus 50 questions for Azure. You can find the CCP product here.

I’ve scored 46/65 on the first Tutorials Dojo (70.07%) practice exam. Even though they said that I failed (I didn’t because I scored 700/1000), I knew that I didn’t have to buy another practice exam. Also I know that I am passing my AWS CCP.

However, I do need to reread the Well-Architected Framework (they’ve added sustainability since 2020), the cloud adoption framework and the AWS support plans. Once I master these three things, I am most certainly passing my AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner again.

--

--