This Week in AWS Community: System Maintenance

carlarjenkins
2 min readOct 14, 2024

Hey y’all! I know that this Week in AWS Community is delayed because this is because of PearsonVUE. The testing company has had its systems down for weekend: but didn’t tell anyone earlier last week.

I went onto PearsonVUE October 8, 2024 because the AWS AI Practitioner came out of beta. There was no mention of weekend system maintenance.

This is bigger than a mere inconvenience: test takers all around the globe couldn’t book and/or reschedule their exams. It would be nice had PearsonVUE sent an email to everyone so that we could plan accordingly.

I have an exam voucher so there is no money coming out of my pocket. However, there are many test takers self-financing these testing fees.

And it is not just AWS that is affected. There are hundreds of organizations that use PearsonVUE to administer their battery exams. It’s more than Cloud Practitioner. It’s nursing, teachers, doctors, college students, civil service employees that are affected by PearsonVUE just slapping up a system maintenance banner without warning.

Once, the system comes back up, I have booked my Machine Learning Engineer Associate beta exam for in person testing. However, I must do this rant because PearsonVUE must do better and value test takers’ time and money.

If you like content like this, follow me here on Medium.

--

--